News Photo
General - Thu, Feb. 23, 2012
February 20, 2012

- The Great Midwest Athletic Conference (G-MAC) has received notice that the NCAA Division II Membership Committee has approved the G-MAC as a member conference of NCAA Division II effective September 1, 2012.

As a member conference, the G-MAC will now enter an educational assessment program for the 2012-13 academic year with the goal of beginning competition as the 24th active NCAA Division II member conference effective September 1, 2013. Charter members of the G-MAC include Cedarville University (Cedarville, Ohio), Central State University (Wilberforce, Ohio), Kentucky Wesleyan College (Owensboro, Ky.), Trevecca Nazarene University (Nashville, Tenn.), Urbana University (Urbana, Ohio), and Ursuline College (Pepper Pike, Ohio).

Full GMAC Logo
City Paper Article on G-MAC

Dr. Dan Boone, Trevecca Nazarene University President, commented, "This is another great step forward for the city of Nashville and for Trevecca Nazarene University. Trevecca will be the premier DII school for the Middle Tennessee area. As we build the southern half of the GMAC, I anticipate other area universities expressing interest. What we love most about our new affiliation is the NCAA Division II value of "Life in the Balance" - a focused strategy of developing the whole person."

Dr. Bill Brown, Cedarville University President and chair of the G-MAC Presidents' Council said, "We are grateful that the NCAA recognizes the quality of the current membership and the potential for the development of an outstanding Division II conference. Every school contributed to achieving this recognition. Now we are ready to take off!"

The G-MAC will work to meet the active member and sport sponsorship requirements established by the membership by June 1, 2013. The Conference will achieve the benchmarks for the 2013-14 academic year with six active NCAA Division II members and by meeting sport sponsorship requirements for five men's sports and five women's sports or four men's sports and six women's sports.

At the point at which the requirements are met, the G-MAC will gain full privileges of NCAA Division II Conference membership, including conference grant distribution, voting rights and representation on the NCAA Management Council and Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

"We are thankful to the NCAA Division II Membership Committee for acceptance of the G-MAC as a member conference," said G-MAC Commissioner Tom Daeger. "The approval is a significant milestone in the development of our league and we look forward to advancing the growth of our membership."

"Additionally, the opportunity to complete the educational assessment program during the 2012-13 academic year will provide further support to our development as a model NCAA Division II conference and enable the league to prepare for competition as an active conference in 2013-14."

The G-MAC will begin sponsoring 12 championships in the 2012-13 academic year as it works through the requirements of the educational assessment program. Men's and women's cross country, men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's golf, women's tennis, baseball and softball conference championships will be held for member student-athletes.

"It is our goal to develop a conference that will provide the quality championship experiences and league administrative support expected of a model NCAA Division II conference from the outset," added Daeger. "The opportunity to develop these championships and procedures in advance of our first year as an active NCAA Division II conference will be tremendously beneficial to our office and league members."


The G-MAC, established in 2012, is a NCAA Division II Conference featuring active and reclassifying members in Ohio, Kentucky and Tennessee. Charter members of the G-MAC include Cedarville University, Central State University, Kentucky Wesleyan College, Trevecca Nazarene University, Urbana University and Ursuline College. The G-MAC, headquartered in Indianapolis, will sponsor 12 championships in 2012-13 with intention to begin competition as an active NCAA Division II member conference in 2013-14.